YIELD Test – Yield Improvement using ELectrophysiology Device

Alteration of the environmental conditions are inducing changes in the underlying physiological process of a plant, which are portrayed by distinct variations in the electrical potential that could further be monitored. In previous research work done for Innosuisse-founded project PISA - Platform applying Intelligent Signal Analysis to gain insights to plant electrophysiology, the HEIG-VD team have demonstrated that, by employing advanced signal processing and data analysis techniques, it is possible to recognize patterns in the electrical response of tomato plants growing in typical production conditions, allowing to identify, with accuracy, the presence of stress in plants caused by the applied stressor, such as drought, deficit of nutrients and insect attack.

Early detection of stress in plants would lead to a more effective crop protection and, as consequence, a significant decrease of crop losses due to disease and blights and an increase in production. Moreover, it would further allow a reduced and more effective use of pesticides that would lower the environmental impacts from the agriculture.

By extending the knowledge of previous related work, the main objective of this project is to provide new insights on plant electrophysiology that could bring direct benefit to growers in terms of optimizing the production conditions and yields. More precisely, within a multi-disciplinary collaboration, the HEIG-VD team will aim at answering three research questions:

  1. Can the model built for diagnosing stress in tomatoes be applied to other crops?
  2. Can a specific model combining crop electrical response to drought, nutrient deficiencies and insect attacks be created to provide a generalized measure of plant stress?
  3. Can electrophysiology measurements be used to enhance scouting in commercial greenhouses?

Project funded by the swiss Federal Office for Agriculture - FOAG.

Publications:

  • Identifying General Stress in Commercial Tomatoes Based on Machine Learning Applied to Plant Electrophysiology Najdenovska, Elena; Dutoit, Fabien; Tran, Daniel; Rochat, Antoine; Vu Basile; Mazza Marco; Camps, Cédric; Plummer, Carole; Wallbridge, Nigel; Raileanu, Laura, Applied Sciences 2021, vol. 11, no. 12, article no. 5640 https://doi.org/10.3390/app11125640

YIELD Test – Yield Improvement using ELectrophysiology Device

La modification des conditions environnementales induit des changements dans le processus physiologique sous-jacent d'une plante, qui se traduisent par des variations du potentiel électrique pouvant être enregistrées et monitorées. Dans le cadre du projet Innosuisse PISA (Platform applying Intelligent Signal Analysis to gain insights to plant electrophysiology), l'équipe de l'HEIG-VD a montré qu'en utilisant des techniques avancées de traitement du signal et d'analyse intelligente de données, il est possible de reconnaître des configurations dans la réponse électrique de plants de tomates et de construire des modèles permettant d'identifier, avec précision, leur état de stress causé par des facteurs externes tels que la sécheresse, le manque de nutriments ou encore l'attaque d'insectes nuisibles.

La détection précoce du stress chez les plantes permettrait une protection plus efficace des cultures et, par conséquent, une diminution significative des pertes de récoltes dues aux maladies et aux champignons ainsi qu’une augmentation de la production. En outre, elle permettrait une utilisation réduite et plus ciblées des traitements, ce qui réduirait l'impact environnemental de l'agriculture.

L'objectif principal de ce projet est de compléter les travaux antérieurs et de fournir de nouvelles connaissances sur l'électrophysiologie des plantes, qui pourraient apporter un bénéfice direct aux producteurs en termes d'optimisation des conditions de production et des rendements. Plus précisément, dans le cadre d'une collaboration multidisciplinaire, l'équipe HEIG-VD cherchera à répondre à trois questions de recherche :

  1. Le modèle construit pour le diagnostic du stress chez la tomate peut-il être appliqué à d'autres espèces ?
  2. Peut-on créer un modèle combinant la réponse électrique des cultures à différents simutli, tels que la sécheresse, les carences en nutriments et les attaques de nuisibles afin de fournir une évaluation généralisée de l’état de stress d’une plante ?
  3. Les mesures électro-physiologiques peuvent-elles être utilisées pour améliorer le dépistage et la surveillance en production dans des serres commerciales ?

Projet financé par l’Office fédéral de l’agriculture suisse - OFAG.

Publications:

  • Identifying General Stress in Commercial Tomatoes Based on Machine Learning Applied to Plant Electrophysiology Najdenovska, Elena; Dutoit, Fabien; Tran, Daniel; Rochat, Antoine; Vu Basile; Mazza Marco; Camps, Cédric; Plummer, Carole; Wallbridge, Nigel; Raileanu, Laura, Applied Sciences 2021, vol. 11, no. 12, article no. 5640 https://doi.org/10.3390/app11125640