SIENA – System Interpreting Electrophysiology Networks in Agricultural crops

The plant response to the environmental changes is portrayed by distinct variation in the emitted electrical signal triggered by the appropriate physiological adjustments. In the scope of a previous Innosuisse-founded project PISA - Platform applying Intelligent Signal Analysis to gain insights to plant electrophysiology, the data-analysis team at HEIG-VD has shown the presence of substantial information in the electrophysiological recordings done in typical growing condition for identifying the status of a tomato plant related to an applied stressor.

The objective of this project is to advance our capabilities in monitoring and interpreting plant electrophysiology through innovative technology to help increase agricultural yields and sustainability. We also want to deepen our knowledge in the electrical response of several important species in Swiss agriculture, namely tomatoes, eggplant, cucumbers, basil, raspberries and vines.

To ensure better signal-to-noise ratio, which would allow a more accurately interpretation of the acquired signal, this project integrates the development of a specialized flexible high-impendence electrodes using conductive polymer matrix materials that are biocompatible for plants and provide low noise, high resolution signal transmission.

An extended application of advances data analysis techniques will help develop predictive models for detecting plant stress directly on site, using a portable low-power grounded sensor that will be designed, developed and tested in this project. Moreover, such analysis would allow to investigate the universality and specificity of the electrophysiological signal from different plant types which would further help to understand the reliability of applying learnings from one crop to others.

Project funded by Innosuisse - 42751.1 IP-EE.

SIENA – System Interpreting Electrophysiology Networks in Agricultural crops

La réponse des plantes aux changements environnementaux se traduit par une variation distincte du signal électrique qu’elles génèrent, déclenchée par les ajustements physiologiques correspondants. Dans le cadre d'un précédent projet, PISA - Platform applying Intelligent Signal Analysis to gain insights to plant electrophysiology, l'équipe de la HEIG-VD spécialisée dans l'analyse de données a montré la présence d'informations significatives dans les enregistrements électro-physiologiques effectués dans des conditions typiques de production, permettant identifier l’état d'un plant de tomate par rapport à un facteur de stress appliqué.

L'objectif de ce projet est de faire progresser nos capacités dans la surveillance et l’interprétation de l'électrophysiologie des plantes, au travers d’une technologie innovante permettant de contribuer à augmenter les rendements agricoles et la durabilité. Nous souhaitons également d'approfondir nos connaissances dans la réponse électrique de plusieurs espèces importantes dans l’agriculture suisse, à savoir les tomates, les aubergines, les concombres, le basilic, les framboises et la vigne.

Afin d'assurer un meilleur rapport signal/bruit pour une interprétation plus précise du signal acquis, ce projet intègre également le développement d'une électrode flexible spécialisée, à haute impédance, basée sur des matériaux polymères conducteurs et biocompatibles avec les plantes, permettant une transmission du signal à faible bruit et à haute résolution.

Une application étendue de techniques avancées d'analyse de données aidera à développer des modèles prédictifs pour détecter le stress des plantes directement sur site, grâce à un capteur portable qui sera conçu et développé dans le cadre de ce projet. En outre, nous étudierons l'universalité et la spécificité du signal électro-physiologique de différentes espèces de plantes, pour comprendre la possibilité de transposer les connaissances acquises sur une espèce à d'autres types de cultures.

Projet financé par Innosuisse - 42751.1 IP-EE.